Azkals Lost In The Semis But Not In My Heart.

21 Dec
Azkals celebrating after winning over the 2008 AFF Suzuki Cup Champion - Vietnam

Azkals celebrating after winning over the 2008 AFF Suzuki Cup Champion - Vietnam

 

Although, I am still in awe about being featured on a leading newspaper in the country yesterday (check  out this post: “The Glory of the Byline” ) I am also a bit heart broken because Azkals didn’t make to the finals of the AFF Suzuki Cup 2010. Yesterday’s match was another great game, although I have to admit that our National Football Team didn’t play too aggressively yesterday especially during the first half, compared to the first game they played against Indonesia. But despite of the lost, I’m still a very proud Azkal fan. Yes! And I will forever be their supporter.

The Miracle Man and Philippines Head Coach, Simon McMenemy

 

I wrote this yesterday on Facebook as a message  to the Philippines Head Coach Simon McMenemy and the Azkals:

“I’m still proud of the Philippine National Football Team! Mabuhay ang Pilipinas! Thank you Coach Simon McMenemy and the team for reviving the football in the Philippines. I never thought it would happen this soon, just a few months ago (World Cup season), we, the Filipino football fans were very few, now the fans has grown ten folds and I’ve never been this happy and excited for the football. I always cheer for Brazil, Spain and England (of course!) and other countries (Portugal) during the World Cup games but it’s not the same when you cheer for your own country. There’s this different kind of pride and happiness. Thank you so much for being the Miracle Man! May God bless you and the team! 🙂 “

The Azkals

 

I look forward to the next matches. I heard they’re playing Mongolia in February 9, 2011 for the Asian Football Confederation qualifiers and hopefully the proposed Panaad Stadium in Bacolod venue will be picked. 🙂

yummyness! LOL. The handsome goalie - Niel Etheridge.

One Response to “Azkals Lost In The Semis But Not In My Heart.”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 10 Significant Things Of My 2010 « Y writes whatever! - December 31, 2010

    […] like the last month of this year had a lot of significant events. I came to know about our own National Football Team dubbed as the Azkals competing in the AFF Suzuki Cup 2010. I’ve blogged a lot about them in the past few weeks, […]

Leave a Reply

