Vikas Swarup on Writing

3 Feb

“Writing is a very lonely occupation. To write you need to concentrate, to concentrate you need to lock yourself away. No distractions, you want your stream of thoughts uninterrupted. And I found that a day job gave me the opportunity of meeting people and having real conversations. The writer’s is an interior world, a world of the mind. I found that many times, even though my day job is very different from what a writer does, the spark of fiction comes from the real world. So no, I would rather be a diplomat and write on weekends.” – Vikas Swarup, author of Q &A

 

Q & A by Vikas Swarup

2 Responses to “Vikas Swarup on Writing”

  1. Stephen Manoj Thompson February 5, 2011 at 12:15 am #

    Yep I totally agree. Being a technocrat and an author I share the same sense.

    By the way, we are all desperately waiting to know Dr. Swarup’s next project.

    • y February 5, 2011 at 12:28 am #

      I can relate to him as well. So I think I’m keeping my day job too and still write. 🙂

      I have yet to read his books though, I have quite a number of books to read including his.

      So you are an author as well. Great! Hope to read your books too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

