I am pregnant

16 Mar

I am pregnant.

Okay, I’m not.  Aside from the fact that I am not married yet, I don’t even have a bf.  So it’s quite impossible for that to happen. I’m not even seeing anyone.

Oh well, I just wonder how it would feel to say those words and how my family and friends would react to it. But of course, that depends on which scenario I am in. So far I could think of only two major scenarios (with sub scenarios).

Scenario 1: THE IDEAL

I get married to the most beautiful man in the world and the only one for me.  Close family and friends on our wedding day, honeymoon in a lovely beach in Asia or some romantic city in Europe, then after a few weeks, tada! Honeymoon baby in my tummy! LOL.  Then I announce it to my husband first of course, and he cries the tears of joy (or maybe cries for the impending cost of child birth and child-rearing. lol). Then to my dad and mom. I’m sure they will be so happy especially dad who’s been asking me a lot of times to get married because he wants to see his grandchildren. And to my close friends too who will sure celebrate with me and even organize a baby shower. They will treat me extra special to make sure the baby-on-the way is being taken care of in the best possible way. In short, everyone’s excited and happy.

So ideal right?

Here’s comes…

Scenario 2: THE HEART-WRENCHING

There are actually sub scenarios:

A – I have a bf and I get pregnant.

B – I don’t have a bf and I get pregnant.

A – I won’t get into details how things happen but it already have.  I just stare into that two pink lines in my pregnancy kit. I tell the bf. (Possible scenarios: He’ll stay and stick with me and help me face my parents and the world. Or get scared and ran away and be the certified a-hole.) Then depending on the bf’s reaction, I go to my parents, nervous and teary-eyed perhaps and humbled. I know if this happens, I won’t be treated like a teenager – ‘You’re not going to see that guy again!’ or whatever it is… I am old enough to face the consequences of my action but still, I know it’s heart-wrenching for any parents.  Then I tell it to my sisters and knowing them, it’s either they obviously show their support through words and actions or just act as if things are ‘normal’ and still show support in the way they know. I then tell it to my best friends and some closest friends. Best friends might cry or get angry or nag. They have the right, I can’t argue with them. Other friends would sure just accept and support, after all it’s already there and they can’t do anything. To make it short, they all support me but they are somehow heart-broken in the inside. All of them and so am I.

B – Okay, this one has a lil twist. How it happen is not important anymore. But in this case, I’ll be all alone except for the time ‘it’ happen. Come on, how can I get pregnant alone? Immaculate conception? LOL. Of course, there’s a dad but he’s not a bf. So I have to do it alone – tell the parents the shocking news that can be compared to the atomic bomb that destroyed a city in Japan eons ago. Ouch. At least in scenario A, there is a 50-50 chance of having the support of the  the bf, but here… Nada! Telling the parents would be the toughest I think. Mom and Dad would feel bad, that’s for sure, but the thought that I’d still be ‘alone’ or a single a parent will sure worry them.  Best friends would react the same way in scenario A and so are the other friends. The ending is the same too. We all feel bad. Btw, telling it to the guy is my choice but maybe I will. Most likely.

Oh yeah, I didn’t mention the religious affiliation of my family because I think, generally parents and friends would react the same way, no matter which religious background they are from. I have a strong Christian background and I know it is against our belief that you do it before marriage. However, I am human and I am weak too and I sin. I’m not perfect but I always want to do the right thing. I bet nobody wants to break the hearts of their loved ones.

I want that when I tell them “I am pregnant”, everyone in the world rejoices with me and so my God up there. 🙂

Leave a Reply

