Miss Universe 2011 and the Question of the Day

13 Sep

So almost everyone, at least in my part of the world, is talking about the Ms. Universe 2011 result which happened this morning (930AM Manila Time) in Sao Paolo Brazil.

Almost all posts in Facebook and tweets that I read today were about the prestigious beauty pageant. And why not? When our very own Miss Philippines won! Yup! Philippines’ Shamcey Supsup  won, but not Miss Universe title, just the 3rd runner up. The beautiful Miss Angola bagged the title of the most beautiful woman in the universe.  But then again, I’m proud of Shamcey for placing 3rd.

Ms. Philippines Shamcey Supsup in her evening gown (c/o Google images)

Last year, Philippines (Venus Raj) was the 4th runner up and not so long ago, Miriam Quiambao as the 1st runner up. I think almost every year, the candidates that the Philippines send to the competition always (most of the time)have a place in the top 5 or  top 10, or wins some special awards, which just means, we are beautiful people. Hahaha…

Oh well congratulations to all the winners! I like Ms. Angola’s teeth. 🙂

Ms. Universe 2011 - Ms. Angola Leila Lopes (c/o Google Images)

But today, what I think captured the interest of the Filipinos more is not just Shamcey winning 3rd, but it’s the Q & A part of the competition. As usual, like every year, the Q & A portion is just interesting and intriguing. I remember the “major, major” answer of Venus Raj last year. 😛

Shamcey was asked by the judge  with this question:

“Would you change your religious beliefs to marry the person you love and why?’’

Shamcey’s answer was:

“If I have to change my religious belief, I will not marry the person I love because the first person that I love is God and He created me. And I have my faith, my principles and it what makes me who I am. And if that person loves me, he should love my God.’’

And this has been the topic of the day all over the metro and I bet it will be the topic for tomorrow and for the next few days. People talk about it… the radio stations like Magic89.9 (Boys Night Out) were encouraging listeners to answer the question themselves. It’s intriguing and interesting. Why? Because it’s about LOVE and RELIGION. It’s the two most interesting topics in the universe I have to say.

And I have to admit, I like Shamcey’s answer. I think if I was the one competing in the Ms. Universe (Yeah right! In my dreams! LOL), I’d answer the same thing.  I wouldn’t. Nope. I don’t know if the people from other cultures would understand, but if one is aware about the culture in the Philippines being deeply religious, then people will agree that Shamcey’s answer was perfect and  that she deserves the crown.

Actually, I’ve been asked this question before by a close friend of mine (who happened to belong to another faith) and I remember my answer was NO. And if asked again today, I will have the same answer.

And to be honest, my last relationship was with a man who is from a completely different religious background. He is a Sikh, although non-practicing and I am a practicing Christian (not catholic). And while we didn’t really talk about religion, it still affected us in many ways. But I didn’t even consider worshiping another god just for him. I love him so much (and still in love with him *sighs*) and I can do everything for him, except for giving up my faith in Jesus. He didn’t ask me though to change my religion for him, but there was one instance when he was sharing to me his conversation with his dad where he was convincing his father about our relationship and he said to him something like “don’t worry, she will convert and she’ll  be able adjust to it someday .” I couldn’t say a thing after that. It is hard. Oh well.

Right, it’s your turn, let’s say you are in a Ms./Mr. Universe Q & A portion and I’m the judge and I will ask you the same question….

“Would you change your religious beliefs to marry the person you love and why?’’

What would be your answer?

Leave a Reply

