Kuala Lumpur Day 1 – Almost!

14 Dec

(*Note: This is the 1st installment of my recent trip to Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia. I will be writing about my KL experience in maybe 4-5 separate posts to document my daily itinerary during the trip. Just a warning though, the posts will be really long as I want to narrate every bits of it. So relax, get some popcorn and enjoy the ride as you tour around KL though my posts. 🙂 )

(*Addie, here’s the 1st installment. As promised I will write about my entire KL escapade! More to come. :))

Nov 17, 2011 – It is my father’s birthday but I am booked to fly from Manila to KL at 10.10am. We had an advance celebration the night before I left. I woke up at 7.30am. Everything was fine. I already web-checked-in the night before, so I didn’t have to be at the airport too early and waste my precious 3 hours waiting. Thank God for the web check-in technology!  So I left at 8.30 with mom, we took a cab and off to the airport which is less than 30 minutes away from home.  There was no traffic on that sunny Thursday morning. It was a great day. Indeed it was! I arrived on time. Perfect!  At exactly 10.10am, we left Manila. Then after almost 4 hours in the air, we finally landed in LCCT in Kuala Lumpur.  F and I agreed that we’ll meet in KL Sentral instead, so after an hour bus-ride from LCCT to the city center, there he was, my dear friend F waiting for me. Finally we met in person, yes for the first time!  Things went on as planned. Excellent!

But that’s only my wishful thinking.

It didn’t happen.

Well not exactly that way.

Here’s the real story of DAY 1:

I woke up at 7.30. Everything was fine. I web checked-in the night before, so I didn’t have to be at the airport too early and waste my precious 3 hours waiting. Thank God for the web check-in technology!  So I left at 8.30 with my older sister and auntie, because my youngest sis A who wasn’t feeling well called mom and asked her to pick her up from work to go to the Makati Med’s ER. We took a cab and off to the airport which is less than 30 minutes away from home.  I was confident we will get there on time. VERY Confident. But…

BUT…

There was TRAFFIC on that sunny Thursday morning.

Yeah, a horrendous traffic that is!

Ouch.

Cars were barely moving. At first, I still can manage to exchange conversations with my sis and auntie, but not after I glanced at my watch and saw that it’s already 9am and we’re still not halfway through the airport. I kept quiet and started to plead to the Almighty to please give us a good traffic flow or lift our cab and place it directly at the airport’s drop off area.  It was a bumper to bumper situation.

 “Damn. This isn’t happening! Not on this day!” – I thought to myself. I saw some motorcycles passed by and I wanted to get off the cab and get on a motorcycle, any motorcycle! I don’t care if it’s a stranger driving, I will  ask him to take me to the airport, now! But of course I didn’t do that.

My sis out of wanting to paint a smile on my face and change the gloomy/nervous mood inside the cab, cracked some jokes and just made fun of the terrible traffic situation we were in. I think she was trying to console her baby sister (that’s me) by trying to assure me that the flight will be delayed and I will still be able to fly. Thanks ‘Ate’!

930am…. Man, boarding time is at 940… I need a miracle! I was nervous and all, and blaming myself for being so complacent, for being so hopeful that a day will come that there will be no traffic in Manila, for  not thinking ahead, for everything!

What should only take 30 minutes to the airport took us more than an hour to get there. Yes I arrived at almost 10.20am and I MISSED MY FLIGHT.

I hated myself that morning.

After learning that I indeed missed my flight, my sister told me,

 “I think I saw your plane that took off at exactly 10.10am, while we were still in the cab.”

Ouch. She opted not to tell me while we were on our way so I wouldn’t despair. But still I was in total despair after learning I missed my flight!

Well at least I am not alone. There were many of us who missed the flight including the beautiful model/make-up artist named Kharu who was supposed to be on the same flight to KL with me for their photoshoot. Well her case was worse than mine because she was stuck in traffic for like 3 hours!

I immediately sent F a text message informing him that I missed my 10am flight. He replied saying:

“Really? I’m very sorry 😦 coming with another flight? So sorry to hear 😦 why didn’t you leave home earlier?”

I explained what happened and told him I’m getting the next available flight.

So off to the service counter, I tried my luck to negotiate with the airline crew (they’re our client btw). Although I already knew that the fare I paid for that missed flight can’t be credited to the next flight because I already web checked-in and when you do that, it will be considered flown. Still, I tried my chance to convince them that it isn’t entirely my fault. (Yeah I’d like to fool myself sometimes. LOL). But to no avail. I paid for USD 140 just for that one-way flight! Ouch!  And how much did I pay for the roundtrip flight I initially booked? USD 115. And yes, that’s already a roundtrip flight from MNL-KUL-MNL! Dang!

So I thought this trip should be worth all these hassles. Well I just thought that meeting F is worth all of these.

I even thought about booking the next available flight to SG and from there I’ll either take a bus to KL or fly again because I want to be in KL as soon as possible.

The next flight was at 9pm and it will land in KL at 12.30am. Argh! The flight time I was trying to avoid! I do not want arrive at midnight because it’s going to be my first time to be in that city and I do not know my way around yet. So I asked F to please pick me up this time. And my convincing powers worked because he said ,“Ok Y, I’ll pick you up at the airport. See you soon.”

Finally, after days of Idy trying to make him feel guilty of letting a vulnerable (of course not!) woman travel alone from the airport to the city center and telling him that you actually owe her something for helping you out before with your papers. Hahaha… (Thanks Idy! LOL. Now I owe you one! :P)

And since the flight is at 9pm, I still have plenty of time, so I decided to go back home. Kharu, the model I met decided to just stay since she lives far away from the airport to wait for the 9pm flight. She said she’ll just stay in Resorts World Manila and just watch 2-3 movies to kill time.

On our way home from the airport, I’ve learned from the cab driver the reasons of me missing my flight that morning. He said that the president left that morning too for Indonesia to attend some summit and some roads were closed due to that. Of all the days, why does he have to leave the country on that same morning?!?!?! And why didn’t he just take the chopper instead? Second was, there was trailer truck that blocked the road since 4am until 9am just right outside the airport. Third reason, the SKYWAY started to charge high toll fees resulting for motorist to take another route because they don’t want to pay too much, so all cars and public transport are taking the ‘normal routes’. Yeah so those are the reasons… like I said, not entirely my fault.

I slept for a few hours and at 6pm I left for the airport. Yeah I’ve learned already, even if we live just 30 minutes away from the airport, I can’t be complacent anymore. I didn’t check-in via their website too. No way! At 630pm we were already at the airport. See, we are that close, traffic is really the culprit.

At 9pm, we left Manila. Finally! 3 and a half hours later, I am already in KL. This is it. At last I arrived! I sent F a message telling him that we just landed and also sent a text message back home that I arrived in KL safe and sound. I passed through the immigration and I was given a tourist visa good for a month, then proceeded to take my luggage. But before that I saw the money changer and exchange the dollars I have. After that I was already walking towards the exit when I remember that I haven’t collected my luggage yet so I went back and looked for it which took a while. I headed through the exit with my mind completely consumed of something I don’t remember. As I walked towards the exit, I heard a familiar voice calling my name:

“Y! Y! Y!”

And I saw a tall and gorgeous man waving and smiling at me. It was F!  I was stunned because I actually forgot that someone was waiting for me. LOL. I already forgot that he’s going to pick me up. I don’t know but my mind was focused on something I really don’t remember at all.

I walked to where he was. I don’t remember if I said thank you first for picking me up or saying finally we’ve met. He told me I was the last person to get out and he was already asking people if they were on the same Manila flight to assure that my plane already landed. LOL. Well I wasn’t the last, there were still a few people inside.

He then instructed me to buy our bus tickets to KL Sentral because he is not allowed to get in to buy. He was going to give me some Ringgit to buy our tickets but I told him, I already have and I will pay for it since he picked me up. He just took my luggage and waited for a few minutes. When I turned around and walked towards him, I started to feel the excitement of being in KL and also meeting him for the first time.  We hugged and kissed (Idy if you are reading this post, please take note that it’s just a cheek to cheek kind of thing. Nothing to worry, I did not harass our friend. LOL.) Instantly, we clicked. It didn’t feel like it was our first meeting in person. Yup, it’s just like seeing an old friend after a long time. That’s how it feels. We didn’t have an awkward moment I think. We were already at ease and were talking non-stop on our way to KL Sentral. And he was nice enough to carry my luggage and made sure that I was sitting comfortably in the bus.  Awww… how sweet!

He then inquired how in the world I missed the flight. LOL. And he was teasing and laughing at me because he knows that I have been monitoring the airline’s website for a few weeks to make sure I get to avail of the promo, and then I will just miss it and pay more for another one.  When he asked how much I paid for the new booking, I told him to please don’t ask me because I don’t want to remember how much paid.  Haha…

After an hour or so we reached KL Sentral and took a cab going to our hostel in Bukit Bintang. Finally. The hostel was still alive at 2am and people were kind of partying. Pat, one of the hostel staff assisted me and  thanked F for helping me out. He didn’t know we are friends and thought that F was just helping some random stranger carry her luggage. LOL. F explained that we are friends, but quickly explained that he also help others, strangers or not.  Pat inquired why I arrived at 2am when I was supposed to arrive at 3pm as I stated in my booking. I told him the unfortunate thing that happened.

As F promised me and Idy that he will look after me to ensure the safety of the vulnerable woman… LOL… he took my luggage and walked me all  the way to my bedroom in the 3rd floor. He opened the door for me and  even checked the room before I get in to assure me it’s safe. Hahaha… Then he showed me the male dorm in the 2nd floor where he was staying.

We called it a day after that and agreed to get up late the next day.  🙂

###

6 Responses to “Kuala Lumpur Day 1 – Almost!”

  1. Addie December 14, 2011 at 3:50 pm #

    Oh my god. You missed the first flight. Boo, Indonesian president. Just boo!
    Don’t leave me hanging in suspense. So what happened next?
    Define impatience. 😀

    • Y December 14, 2011 at 8:28 pm #

      Addie, yes I missed my flight. As much as I don’t want to remember it, I have to mention it on here or my KL story won’t be complete. 🙂

      And it’s not the Indonesian president, it’s Noy Noy actually, our very own president who left the same day I was supposed to fly. He doesn’t use ‘wang wang’ (siren) but they block some roads. hmmm…

      And be patient my dear. Next installment will be…….

      I don’t know when. LOL. But it will be soon. 😀

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 10 Significant Things of My 2011 – A Year In Review « Y Writes Whatever! - January 1, 2012

    […] Meeting Best Friend F–  Another one to cross in my bucket list. The reason I flew to KL last November is to meet a […]

  2. So This is Kuala Lumpur (Day 2) « Y Writes Whatever! - January 1, 2012

    […] (This is the 2nd installment of my story about my recent KL trip. Another long post. For Part 1, click here.) […]

  3. Birthdays. More Fun in the Philippines. « Y Writes Whatever! - January 30, 2012

    […] flight is at 9.30 but I was up at 7am. Haven’t learned yet from last flight experience? I have. And that’s why mom kept telling me get up now, you don’t want to […]

  4. Parks, Museums and Petronas! (KL Trip Day 3) Part 1 of 2 « Y Writes Whatever! - February 19, 2012

    […] I forgot to mention that the day I arrived F mentioned to me that the hostel employ Filipino staff, along with one Thai guy (Pat), a Malaysian […]

Leave a Reply

