Christmas and Typhoon Sendong

22 Dec

I want to write but I’m too tired. I’m too occupied. This holiday season is just too much for me. The Christmas gatherings, non-stop shopping, wrapping gifts, meeting relatives… it’s tiring.  I just want to sit down, relax, write, watch a movie  or lay down and just be lazy.

Oh I know , I shouldn’t be complaining at all. Especially when people in the Southern Philippines are going through a tough time. My heart goes to the victims of the traumatic typhoon Sendong. I cannot help but cry when I saw the tragic news on TV. While most people in Manila and other major cities were doing their Christmas shopping in air-conditioned malls or complaining about being stuck in the weekend traffic, people in the southern part of the country are grieving for the loss of their love ones and are crying for help as their house are being washed away.  And hearing the different stories of survival and grief of losing  family members and even their unwavering hope of reuniting with them, I can’t help but shed some tears for them.

Anyway, it is my prayer  that we recover as a nation, that the victims receive the much needed help to rebuild their shelters, that they find comfort for the lives that were lost  and that they get back to their lives soon.

This is the right time to show what Christmas really means. Give. Just like God gave his son Jesus to us.  We can help. Doesn’t matter if it’s in cash or in kind. Just contact the legitimate organizations (GMA Kapuso, ABS-CBN, LBC and OMFLiterature are some of them) for all your pledges and donations.

And your prayers will be much appreciated.

 

2 Responses to “Christmas and Typhoon Sendong”

  1. Addie December 26, 2011 at 11:56 am #

    My thoughts are with them – the Sendong victims. On the lighter note, I wish you and your family a very happy, healthy, fun loving and harmonious Christmas and New Year.

    • Y December 28, 2011 at 8:02 pm #

      Thanks Addie. Merry Christmas to you as well!

Leave a Reply

