10 Significant Things of My 2011 – A Year In Review

1 Jan

Like last year, I made a list of what I consider significant events in my life this year. This list is in random order.

1. New Job – After resting for about 6 months from the rat race, I joined a new company again in February 2011. It is one of the known organizations in the world- part of Top 100 Companies according to Forbes. There is no perfect organization but so far, I like my work there.

2. New Friends – Since I have a new job, that means I gained some new friends at work.

3. Philippine Football –Those who have been reading this blog and those people who knows me, are all aware that I,being a fan of the sports football, supports the Philippine Azkals – our National Football Team. Though I missed watching them live play against the hot David Beckham’s team L.A. Galaxy last December 3 when my friend backed out, I’m still glad of the development of football in this country. I wish my favourite REAL MADRID would visit Manila too. If that happens, I will not care if I will watch alone or not. I just have to be there and meet Kaka, Ronaldo, Iker and the rest of the Boys. And oh, just last December 11, when my parents were invited to our Mayor’s birthday party, they met the good looking footballer sibs – Phil and James Younghusband. Unfortunately, I didn’t go with my parents because I was busy with something else at home.

4. My Sister’s Wedding –  My baby sister just got married to her boyfriend of 5 years. Now that left me as the only single in the family. And people around can’t simply resist asking me  question –‘When’s your turn.’ Didn’t I just say, I will punch the next person who will ask me when I’m getting married? LOL

5.Family and Relatives –  My auntie who lives in the US arrived for my sister’s wedding and also to spend Christmas with us. I wasn’t able to join them in out of town trips, mostly to relatives’ place because of work but it was great seeing them when they visited at home this holiday season. A reunion indeed.

6. Touring KL This one I think is one of the highlights this year. I can now cross from my bucket list that I visited Malaysia this year. It wasn’t really in my travel plan for 2011 since I wanted to travel on my birthday in January. But because of the next significant thing in this list, I flew to Kuala Lumpur and had a great time.

7. Meeting Best Friend F–  Another one to cross in my bucket list. The reason I flew to KL last November is to meet a very good friend that I met over Skype back in early 2007. Yes, I met F a few years ago OVER SKYPE. We only met through the net, and some people around me couldn’t believe that I would actually fly to meet someone I met online for the first time and that too, meeting him in a foreign place that I haven’t been to. They think it’s crazy. But they wouldn’t understand unless they open their mind to the possibility of meeting genuinely good people online. F went to KL for a conference and we thought it would be great to meet each other in person. He is one of those online friends I have who have become part of my life. He was there to listen to my rants, laugh with me over crazy things or laugh at me too for my craziness, (LOL), and comfort me during my sadness. I remember him telling me, “If he doesn’t care, you also don’t care. Now go wash your face.” He, together with our other friend, best friend Idy has been there for me ever since. Well hopefully, I would meet Idy next. (See post about my KL trip here.)

8. Friends – I only have a few friends. In fact, I can only count them using the fingers in my hands. Just very few. And I thank the Lord every day for their lives. Life is tough but the Lord sent them to help me go through together with my family.

9. M- We talked a few times this year. Just a few times. One of those was during his birthday when I called to greet him. We were happy that day. He said he misses me a lot. I feel the same way. Unfortunately, things haven’t changed. We still can’t be together. *Sighs*

10. 2011 Birthday –  It was a mix of happiness and sadness that day. I was happy for a lot of reason, one was getting a birthday greeting from Azkals’ goalie- Niel Etheridge via twitter, greeted by close friends and love ones, and the unexpected call by M exactly on the 11th day of January (Read: 59 seconds). I was so happy and I cried at the same time. Good thing, best friend Idy was there to comfort and sang happy birthday to me to make me smile. (Idy, you’ll sing again in a few days!)

So these are some of the things that I consider significant in my 2011. I thank our good Lord Jesus Christ for his unchanging love, mercy and grace. I may have faced a lot of difficulties this year, but at the same time, I received greater blessings- both material and not. Thank you Lord for helping me get through this year and for sending the right people in my path. I pray for 2012, you will also give me your favor and grace and love. May everyone- my familyand love ones, my friends here and abroad, bloggers here at wordpress, all Filipinos and all citizens in the world may experience the Lord’s unfailing love and the showers of blessings!

Happy New Year everyone!

2012 (google images)

2 Responses to “10 Significant Things of My 2011 – A Year In Review”

  1. Addie January 4, 2012 at 4:53 pm #

    F seems like a great guy. 😀 Happy New Year, Y. Tears of 2011, let them flow not anymore. 😀 Cheers.

    • Y January 6, 2012 at 12:50 am #

      He is. Both him and Idy (my other best friend). thanks Addie, happy new year as well. 🙂

Leave a Reply

