Anthony Bourdain on Traveling

22 Mar

(c/o google images)

 

“Travel can become a compulsion. It keeps us away from friends and loved ones – even when we’re back. When I’m away, I often yearn for home. When I’m home, I’m listless. I seem no longer to fit. History and literature are filled with characters who see Asia, or Venice, and can never go back to the way they were.”Anthony Bourdain

I love this quote. So true!

3 Responses to “Anthony Bourdain on Traveling”

  1. Hamza March 24, 2012 at 4:05 pm #

    Truer lines, I have rarely heard.

  2. Addie March 26, 2012 at 4:38 pm #

    Thanks to this, my lust for traveling is growing and it is screaming at me and is all I can think about and all I can concentrate on.

    Pft.

    But why does money always have to get in the way? 😦

    • Y March 27, 2012 at 11:40 pm #

      Forget about the issues with money, just save some, then travel. Then work again, then save again and travel. If you wait until you have ‘the money’, you won’t have time anymore, or worst the energy because you’re too old.

      Remember the 3 stages in life:

      Teen – you have time and energy but no money

      Adult – you have energy and money but no time

      Old – you have time and money but no more energy.

      So I say, travel and see the world now. 🙂 Traveling doesn’t always have to be expensive – I’ve learned from my last trip how you can travel in a budget and enjoy. I thank F for introducing Hostels to me, from now on, especially for international trip, I will stay at hostels, it’s more fun and it’s cheaper. 🙂

Leave a Reply

