I am not supposed to be in Manila right now. I should be in India.

5 Feb

Well, I should be In Mumbai or Allahabad right now.

Tomorrow is my friend’s wedding in India. He told me about his big day about 6 months ago and invited me to be there as he wed his lovely bride. He said that he had to inform me earlier so that I can book flights, file for at least 2-week leave from work and save so I can be there on his special day. I know 6 months is still a short notice, considering I live in the South East, and fare is already a little expensive. But actually, he’s been inviting me to his wedding even before he got engaged. Actually years, before he got engaged.

Mehendi

Mehendi

He even sent me an invitation through email and I got overly excited seeing the colorful invitation that contains some of their photos, and info of the different ceremonies prior to the wedding (Mehendi, Sangeet, Haldi) the wedding itself and the two wedding receptions in Mumbai and Allahabad. It’s a week-long celebration! No wonder he asked me to take a 2-week off from work. He said, 1 week for his wedding and another if I want to tour in some parts of India.

Sangeet

Sangeet

Of course I said Yes, with the intention of really coming over to the wedding. But months before today, I thought hard about it and after much contemplation, I decided that I had to miss it. *sighs*

There are reasons.

Now, I feel bad about it. I should be there! I can’t believe I let an opportunity to witness something wonderful, go away. I have never been to India and never been to a Hindu or any Indian wedding. I’ve only seen them in movies and I thought that attending a wedding is a great way to experience a culture, especially if it’s something different from what I am used to.

Haldi

Haldi

I always wanted to visit India. I thought that they have a rich culture and tradition that I find so fascinating. And attending one of their celebrated life events – a wedding, is a great way to immerse into their culture.

In my bucket list, I included there attending an Indian wedding. I would have crossed it by now. Sure, I can still cross it from the list someday. I could attend another Indian wedding but I guess it won’t be as special as the wedding tomorrow, because it is not my friend’s anymore.

Sad.

The Wedding Ceremony

The Wedding Ceremony

Anyway, even if I am not there to physically witness their union and celebrate with them as they start their lives together, my heart and thoughts are with them. I wish them more blessings and God’s love to bind them together, forever.

Leave a Reply

