40 Days of Only Water

11 Feb

Last week, Blood:Water Mission re-tweeted something from one of their followers that caught my eye:

“#40Days of no coffee #40Days no lattes #40Days of no tea for a cause I believe in.”

No COFFEE. What? Really? What is this 40days without my favorite beverage?

I went to check then what is this #40DaysofWater all about and found that it’s a 40-day challenge by Blood:Water Mission, of drinking only water. No coffee, No tea, No milk, No juice or anything, JUST WATER. Well, don’t worry food is allowed. It’s just drink that you have to give up.

Image

The challenge is to support the org’s mission to bring clean and safe water to Uganda. It will start on Feb 13 and will end on the 30th of March. I want to join the challenge but I’m kind of unsure if I can live a day without coffee. So I’m still confused. I really want to support Blood:Water Mission but that is what’s stopping me. Hmm… I can’t decide. Really, no coffee? Oh no. Well, I have about 24 hours left to decide whether I join or not.

So, you might ask, how is ‘giving up coffee’ going help Uganda get access to clean and safe water? Well this is simple, the money you are suppose to spend on your expensive or inexpensive coffee, tea or whatever colored drink you buy are to be donated instead to the organization to raise fund to bring water to the communities in Uganda. You save the money that you are supposed to use for your favorite drink and donate. It is for a really good cause.

Blood:Water Mission has been supported by my favorite band Jars of Clay ever since and they are legit. Jars is actually part of that org, with Dan, the lead singer, one of its officers I think. And a few years ago, they have celebrated the completion of the 1000 wells they built around Africa. So there is nothing to doubt about BWM. They really are legit org.

Going back. If you count the days from Feb 15- March 30, it’s going to be 46 days, not 40. So why 46? Well, like when you are dieting, there are cheat days. ๐Ÿ™‚ There are 6 Sundays in that period and those 6 are going to be the cheat days.(Feast Day according to BWM. =p) My favorite coffee is allowed on Sundays! Woohooo!!! (Well, I still have to decide.)

If you sign up, you may track your progress in their website as you can create your unique profile page and share your experience with friends. You can even invite them to join you in this cause. I think it’s easier if you do it with a partner or group of friends or family. You know, there’s accountability and support. There is also a journal you may download that you can use during the campaign. Download here.

Well, I still have a day to register before it officially starts. I still need to muster enough courage to ditch coffee for a while. ๐Ÿ™‚

If you want to join, please visit this site:

40days.bloodwatermission.com

###

One Response to “40 Days of Only Water”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Drinking Only Water for 40 Days to Give Water. « Y Writes Whatever! - February 18, 2013

    […] finally signed up for Blood:Water Mission’s 40 Days of Water challenge. Yesterday was Day 1 and I’m proud to say that I survived the day without coffee. […]

Leave a Reply

